That New York State of Mind

I’m back! We were traveling to the Dominican Republic and also spent a few days in New York. All I have to say is that I am glad I don’t live in New York, because I would literally weigh 500 pounds with all that good food there. I mean, we love to eat in Chicago, and we have great food, too – but in New York it’s just different. I don’t know if it’s because New York is so jam-packed with restaurants or what. Even the little deli/salad bar places are awesome. I had a top 3 falafel there one day for lunch. Did I mention I love to eat?

New York is one of those places that I thought I would never want to live. When I was growing up in Denver, I used to be a little obsessed with New York because I was in love with David Letterman. (Yes, you read that right – when I was 14 most people I knew had pictures of Scott Baio or Rick Springfield or something. Me? Pictures of David Letterman plastered all over the place, but that’s another story…) Then, I finally made my first trip in college with my first college boyfriend. I hated it. But, I guess part of that had to do with the fact that we were under 21 and flat broke. Not a good way to experience New York.

I had to go back a few times over the years for my job and still never got it. It seemed crowded, smelly, dirty and noisy. I had a good friend I’ve known since grade school who lived there, and even got to hang out with him a few times and still didn’t get it. Then, a few years ago, I spent some time there because that was where I bought my wedding dress. I had to go three times in four months for fittings and whatnot and got to spend a good amount of time just experiencing the city.

 The last fitting I had there was on a warm, sunny day in May and my now-husband and I had about six hours to kill until our flight back to Chicago. We were staying at the Carlyle because I had always wanted to stay there, and it was close to where my fittings were. We drank champagne in Bemelman’s Bar at the Carlyle – the most romantic spot in NYC, I think. We walked over to Central Park and had lunch at the Boathouse after playing with the sailboats on the pond. I don’t know if it was because it was the most perfect day in the world, and it was a Friday, but everyone we met was friendly, fun and happy. People bought us drinks, I made new friends just for the day. The birds were singing, the trees were swaying, the music was playing – and I finally got it. New York really is a special place. I fell in love with it that day and maybe, just maybe, I’ll get to live there someday.

You never know where life may take you.

Leave a Reply

