Kentucky Fried Chicken Coleslaw Recipe

yummy.jpg

I’m not a big Kentucky Fried Chicken fan – actually, I’m not a big chicken fan overall. (Kind of odd since I love turkey sandwiches, but I am an enigma…)  But, I do love those sides – macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes, and especially the coleslaw.  It’s just the perfect mix of tangy and sweet and chopped so fine.  Well, I found a coleslaw recipe that tastes exactly like it, so you can make it at home.  Enjoy.

KENTUCKY FRIED CHICKEN-STYLE COLESLAW

1 16-oz. package coleslaw mix
2 TBS minced onion
1/3 C. white sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
1/4 C. milk
1/2 C. mayonnaise
1/4 C. buttermilk
1 1/2 TBS white wine vinegar
2 1/2 TBS lemon juice

Finely chop coleslaw mix.  Combine coleslaw mix and onion in a large bowl.  In another bowl combine the sugar, salt, pepper, milk, mayonnaise, buttermilk, vinegar and lemon juice; whisk until smooth.  Pour dressing over coleslaw and onion mixture; mix well.  Cover and chill at least one hour.

13 thoughts on “Kentucky Fried Chicken Coleslaw Recipe

  1. Sounds like a lovely slaw. I made a very similiar one a few days back – a Nigella Lawson recipe called New Orleans Coleslaw.

      • Sorry for reviving old thread but YES, KFC *DOES* put horseradish in their coleslaw. As a matter of fact, the last family side of KFC coleslaw I got (last week) had a tiny bit *TOO MUCH* horseradish in it as my wife and I could taste it very well. I finished off the remainder this morning and confirm, it *DOES* have horseradish in KFC coleslaw.

  2. Pingback: Recept Coleslaw | Länkkatalogen

  3. I don’t know about anyone else BUT once you get the milk, lemon juice and vinegar together aren’t you just making MORE buttermilk ?? – LOL
    I mean, that is the way they say to make a buttermilk substitute when you don’t have the real thing.
    ALSO
    Saw a couple of other recipes… One adds bell pepper the other taragon.
    The taragon comment say, “that’s the secret spice.”
    Thinking of trying the taragon BUT don’t think I ever caught a hint of bell pepper in the real KFC version.
    Good luck folks,
    Don

  4. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everybody else encountering problems with your
    site. It appears as though some of the written text in your content are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me
    know if this is happening to them too? This may be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thank you

  5. I think it’s your browser… what browser do you use? I use Google Chrome and the site looks fine to me.

  6. i have tried all the name brand cole slaw including thumanns they look like thowup and they taste like suicide the kfc is the only one that taste right thank you for that simple recipie i am going to try it bless you

  7. It is not KFC coleslaw without their two secret ingredients, which many have figured out, anyone with a refined palette can discern, and no one seems to publish. Pineapple and horseradish are the key flavor components that make KFC coleslaw so mysteriously different than all of the traditional slaws. I’m not sure of the ratios for this recipe, but anyone telling you you’re going to get the same flavor without these two interval ingredients is either unaware or just helping to keep the secret. Beware, though! I’ve seen some sites that say tarragon vinegar is the secret flavor. It is not! It doesn’t make a bad coleslaw, but it will not taste like KFC’s, if that’s what you’re after.

Leave a Reply

