Old School Weight Watcher Cards

I like to collect old cookbooks and recipe cards. Cookbooks are especially like peeking into the scary past, with the food, the preparation of the food, and the social commentary accompanying the recipes, especially for “the little lady” of the house. The late fifties/early sixties cookbooks are the best in the latter. I think my favorite section in one of my cookbooks circa 1964 was titled: “How to Keep Your Husband Happy and Yourself Repsectable.” Ah, the good old days.

Anyway, this classic link is one of my favorites in this genre. This chica found her Mom’s old 70’s Weight Watcher Recipe Cards in the basement and scanned the best ones for our pleasure. With such beauties such as Fluffy Mackerel Pudding to Caucasian Shashlik, this is one of my favorite time wasters. The snarky comments are good, too. I’ve looked at this numerous times over the past few years, and it gets funnier every time.

Click here to Begin the Tour of Horror

3 thoughts on “Old School Weight Watcher Cards

  1. Laughed so hard I almost peed my pants (and did neglect the children as they were rifling through the pantry and my youngest had a can of Pam in his hand ready to spray–got dirty looks from husband).

Leave a Reply

