Go Ram’s!

go_rams.jpg

Well, it’s that time of year again… Time to travel to Denver in a couple of weeks and watch my poor beleaguered CSU Rams try and beat the annoying CU Buffs.

If you don’t know what I am talking about, then you aren’t from Denver. The Rocky Mountain Showdown (or as my good freind JMo calls it, The Rocky Mountain Letdown) is one of the biggest sports events in Denver, selling out the 76,000 seats at Mile High Stadium each year. (Yes, I know it’s officially “INVESCO Field at Mile High”, but I can’t bring myself to say that ridiculous name.)

The college rivalry has been going on and off since 1893 – where CSU didn’t win until 1912 – and is now considered a cemented rivalry game since 1983. Total record? Buffs: 57, Rams: 21 (I counted the two ties to CSU for obvious reasons.) And, I might mention, the Rams lost 3 out of the 4 years I attended CSU.

So, why now do I go each year and put myself through the agony of these games? Because the win is so much more special, I guess. You see, CSU is not only the underdog in Colorado, but the forgotten proverbial red-headed stepchild of Colorado sports. CU and CU Buff fans are always considered the top dog in Denver because they are considered the “rich” and “cool” school while CSU is the state school with the state school budget and the state school fans. Never mind the fact that most students that attend CU are there for the sole fact that their parents have money and most likely weren’t smart enough to get into anything east of the Mississippi if you know what I mean. I mean, where else in the mountain states do you see assholes driving Porches to class and wearing Burberry to a test?

So, for us — the sad CSU fans — the win means we weren’t the underdog for once. We beat the guys with the Burberry and Porsches in our Toyota Tercels and Cherokee, and for once money and influence didn’t mean anything. And, even if we lose, which is more likely than not, we keep coming back each year with that pure hope in our hearts that this year could be different. As my friend Beej says, “We may not be a good lookin’ folk, but we got spirit.”

Amen, Beej.
And, as my Gramatically Incorrect Foam Finger says, “Go Ram’s!”

4 thoughts on “Go Ram’s!

  1. hmmm… then what would your fellow rams have to say about that tell-tale plaid which appears quite frequently trimming your ‘plain white shirts’?

Leave a Reply

