The Name Says it All…

moldie.jpg

Okay, this is the last salad mold I’ll post, I promise. I just couldn’t resist this one because, well, like the name says – – it’s just perfection. This wonderful concoction is gelatin, apple juice, lemon juice, vinegar, carrot, celery, cabbage, green pepper and pimiento.

That doesn’t sound as nasty as some of the other molds on my list, but my favorite thing about this recipe is that it was filed under “The Midwest” in my Mcall’s 1974 Recipe Card Collection. You know, nothing says Midwestern like a beautiful Easter Hat of Gelatin.

4 thoughts on “The Name Says it All…

  1. It does have some pretty nice fall colors going for it, at least. Besides, isn’t gelatin good for your eyesight or fingernails or something?

  2. I’ve encountered a similar version of “Perfection Salad” in a “Joys of Jell-o” pamphlet. Apparently there were a lot of perfectionists in them-there days.
    So many cow hooves….so much aspic…

Leave a Reply

