Vintage Cookbook Centerfold of the Week

cluck.jpg

This beautiful spread is from the 1952 “250 Ways to Prepare Poultry” cookbook.  At first I didn’t recognize the roasted bird as a chicken, because I guess this is what a chicken looks like when it’s not shot up with hormones and antibitotics, and not fed with  genetically altered super-corn.  Kinda scrawny!  But, it probably tastes a lot better because it’s the way nature intended — not scientists at ChickenCorp, Inc. 

Anyway, the other barf-inducing dish is Chicken Salad – which should make you wince if you’ve ever gotten food poisoning from any sort of mayonnaise-infused cuisine.  It’s looking a little gray to me, which is probably not a good sign for chicken salad. (Maybe it’s back to those chicken hormones.)

 And, of course, nothing goes better with chicken or chicken salad that peanut butter and jelly sandwiches — right? 

14 thoughts on “Vintage Cookbook Centerfold of the Week

  1. I was a vegetarian for awhile in college. I never was a big meat person – but I have to admit, I really did it at the time because it was “cool.” It lasted about six months. I hate to tell you what brought me back to the meat-eating world:

    McDonald’s.

    *sigh*

  2. You don’t think that chicken salad looks delicious? haha. Seriously, can you imagine the looks on the faces of the guest when they show up and see that anorexic chicken on the center of the table? And then, like you said, the PB&J sandwiches, haha!

    Just think, this actually made the pages of a cookbook.

  3. That’s fantastic! My friend and I spent a couple hours going through one of her mom’s recipe books from the ’50s or ’60s and it was amazing how strange everything looked and sounded. We were initially trying to find a recipe for something but wound up just mocking the cookbook. Everything had mayo in it – yuck.

  4. Not only are these peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, but they have the crust cut off and are cut diagnolly. This is one fancy spread!

  5. You know, my Gramma *always* eats a peanut butter sandwich with fried chicken. I have thought that was the strangest thing. But, now, I am wondering if that wasn’t “the thing” back when she was a young homemaker. Still odd and vaguely frightening but good to know it wasn’t her idea….

  6. I bought a whole chicken at the farmer’s market last weekend and it looked pretty close to that picture. It was 2 1/4 lbs. and it was one of the bigger ones they had. It was pretty tasty too.

  7. At one time I had a very impressive collection of vintage cookbooks from the 60’s. Like this one all of the pictures were very unappetizing due to the greenish cast in the ink use to make the photographs. I use to think I was born into the wrong decade, but if I’d gotten my wish I would of been eating anorexic chicken and PB&J with gravy. Rad!

Leave a Reply

