My Album Collection: Grease Soundtrack 1978

grease.png


Ahhhh… the Grease Soundtrack.  Do you know that I listened to this so much that I actually wore it out and had to buy another one?  Did you even know that you can wear out a record?  Well, you can and I did.
 
Grease was my favorite movie of all time when I was a kid.  I saw it about 20 times.  Then, one of my  friends got the first VCR (I think it was a BetaMax)  I ever saw and she got a copy of Grease for Christmas!  Then I saw it about 100 more times.  Never mind that I didn’t really understand half of it – like that Rizzo thought she was pregnant(!), and that Danny was trying to feel Sandy up at the drive-in, or the message I was subliminally receiving that I need to “slut it up” to get the guy.   No, I just loved the songs and of course I had a crush on John Travolta like every other 10 year old at the time.  
 
I used to spend hours in my room listening to this double-record.  I still pretty much know every word to every song.  I mean, do you know the words to It’s Raining on Prom Night? Unfortunately I do.  I can also do the hand jive, sing all of We Go Together, and act out the entire girls’ sleepover scene myself.  Did I mention I was an only child?
 
Oh, and to this day my favorite karaoke song is Hopelessly Devoted to You.  In fact, it’s my only karaoke song.   If it’s a good night, I can bring the house down with that one.  If it’s a bad night, well… let’s focus on the positive, shall we?

4 thoughts on “My Album Collection: Grease Soundtrack 1978

  1. are you sure that is your only karaoke song?? I have these hazy memories of your karaoke song being, well, all of them.

    Let the midnight speeeeciallllllllll, shine a light on meeeeeeeeee

  2. there was this pretty cool Twilight Zone episode, took place after WW3*. Everything was basically destroyed and nearly everyone was killed, but there was at least one survivor. He would root around in the rubble looking for canned goods, etc. to live from day to day.

    He finds this wind up victorola (sp?) that actually works, and one unbroken record (pretty sure something by Mozart).

    In his melancholy and loneliness and depression, he plays it over, and over, and over, until it’s mostly reduced to hissing and pops, but he can’t bear to stop playing it. So yeah, i did know that you could wear out those grooves.

    *as many of them do

Leave a Reply

