OSCARS: So Many Complaints… So Little Time

 picture-7.png 

Okay…  I admit it.  I am one of those people that kind of get in to the Academy Awards.  I watched the entire thing tonight – without interruption.  Mostly because my husband is out of town, so he couldn’t get bored and therefore interrupt me.  I actually took some illegible notes as I sipped some of my favorite Pinot Noirs.   Here is what I could make of it all after the fact:

 

  1.  C –  List Presenters:  Well, I originally wrote Z List, but now I realize I am being a little mean.  (i.e. George Clooney + Cameron Diaz = C-)  Was it the Strike?  Was it writer laziness?  Was it no one fucking cares?  Why were we subjected to such an overall lame group? Patrick Dempsey? Miley Cyrus? Come on.
  2. International Flair: Enjoyed the fact that there were many winners tonight that did not have english as a first language.  Again, our laziness and dropping the ball due the strike may have had something to do with people from other countries winning the big prize.  Yay!  It’s finally a real award, unlike the Miss Universe Contest.
  3. Jon Stewart was Lame.  I’m sorry – I really love him on The Daily Show, but he really was no good tonight.  I felt like they had a pre-strike show already written, and then after the strike ended, they didn’t really fix it.  No smart jokes, extreme lameness, and overall mediocre effort from someone I usually equate with excellence.  Boo.
  4. No One was There.  Okay, I admit – I didn’t watch the red carpet coverage because I hate that shit.  But, watching just the telecast – it seemed that no one was there.  All I saw were the same 10 people over and over on camera.  Thank God for George Clooney.  He is hot.
  5. George Clooney is Fucking Hot.  He is.  End of story.

That’s all I got for tonight – thanks for playin’
 
 

2 thoughts on “OSCARS: So Many Complaints… So Little Time

  1. I agree – not the best show as far as show go.

    I’m a guy – so can’t really comment on George Clooney, but he seems cool

  2. thanks for the review, i was sorting my sock drawer last night so I didn’t get a chance to watch those self-absorbed douchebags.

    Speaking of celebrities, I saw Eva Longoria at the San Antonio airport yesterday. They were announcing the last call on United to Los Angeles, and they read off 3 names, something, something and Longoria.

    I didn’t think much of it, but figured, as she is married to Tony Parker of the Spurs, and the Spurs played in San Antonio the night before, and the flight was going to Los Angeles…it just might be her.

    Sure enough, 1 minute before they shut the doors, this little gal comes running up in her maroon velour sweatsuit and big sunglasses, hair up and little if any makeup. It was kind of like the red carpet, except without the zillion dollar dress, photographers, TV and lame interviews.

Leave a Reply

