Vintage Cookbook Centerfold of the Week

salads.jpg


Courtesy of 500 Delicious Salad Recipes, by Consolidated Book Publishers, 1951.  I wish I could identify the salads for you (like what the hell is that in the upper left corner?) but they don’t have an id page, and I can’t really figure it out from the other 496 recipes in this classic booklet.  I’m especially partial to that pink mold with the veggies.  I bet it’s nasty, but I want to know what’s in it anyway!
 
Enjoy – I’m on vacation for a week to somewhere warm, thank God!!!! 

One thought on “Vintage Cookbook Centerfold of the Week

  1. The pink stuff if tomato aspic – and yes, it is nasty! It’s Knox gelatin mixed with tomato juice and other ingredients. My Mom used to make us eat it – I’m getting a gag reflex just thinking about it! She also liked to make lime jell-o mixed with a bag of shredded cabbage (cole slaw mix) – topped with a big ol’ dollop of mayonnaise. I could never figure out if it was supposed to be a salad or a dessert . . .

    I stumbled upon your website while looking for a recipe. My sincerest thanks for helping me waste most of an afternoon in the office. Having a good work ethic is overrated. – -I’ll be adding you to “my favorites”.

Leave a Reply

