Mother’s Day Menu from 1956


 

For Mother’s Day Supper a few weekends ago, I decided to honor my Mother-in-Law by making everything out of the 1956 Better Crocker Picture Cookbook.  She is the Honorary Queen of 50s Cooking, as she still uses the same recipes today as she did when my husband was a kid in the 50s.  Her recipes are all awesome and she kind of started my fascination with vintage recipes and cookbooks.

Here was the Menu:

  • Sandwich Loaf
  • Chicken Salad and Cranberry Chicken Salad with Toasted Bread Cups
  • Roast Beef Tenderloin with Horseradish Sauce
  • Parker House Rolls
  • Ring O’ Plenty with Creamed Vegetables
  • Macaroni & Cheese Loaf (this was mainly for the kids)
  • My Mom’s Waldorf Salad (can’t see in the picture)
  • Spinach Salad with Piquant Dressing
Also, my sister in law got in the spirit and asked me to pick a cake out of the book and she’d make it.  So, we also had Bonnie Butter Cake with Strawberry Buttercream Frosting.

The thing I noticed about all of these old recipes is the love of mayonnaise, mayonnaise and more mayonnaise.  Everything had either tons of mayo, tons of celery or hard boiled eggs – or all three!  (I went through two packages of celery alone.)  How did everyone stay so thin back then eating all this stuff and we’re so fat today?  (I’m back to the High Fructose Corn Syrup Theory.)

Anyway, if anyone wants any of the recipes, put it in the comments.  Don’t let the bad photography fool you – everything tasted great – especially the cake.

And no, I didn’t even attempt the famed Liver Sausage Pineapple or any of the assorted disgusting Gelatin Molds.  I’m not a sadist.

Leave a Reply

