It’s National Donut Day!

 

 

I just heard on the radio that today is National Donut Day.  Who the hell sanctions these stupid holidays?  What, the National Donut Board petitions the Department of Frivolous Holidays for an Official Day?  (Don’t laugh, there is an actual National Donut Board, although they seem to be kind of secretive for some reason.  Hmmm… what have I stumbled upon?  Call Woodward and Bernstein!)

 Did you know there is also a National Cheeseball Day (April 17), a National French Fried Shrimp Day (December 21) and even a National Egg Salad Week (April 12-18)?  Hey, wait, National Egg Salad Week (why does egg salad get a week?) overlaps National Cheeseball Day! WTF, I’m confused!

I’m really not a big donut fan.  I mean, it is basically fried dough, and I’m all for anything fried, but somehow donuts don’t do it for me.  I guess they’re too sweet and I don’t have much of a sweet tooth.  Oh, except for cruellers.  Those rock!

One thought on “It’s National Donut Day!

  1. So that explains why I didn’t see any cops out on the street today….

    I think it’s also considered National Cheesehead Day anytime the Packers play.

Leave a Reply

