Macaroni & Cheese with Tomato

mac

I don’t know what it is with me and macaroni and cheese.  I swear, if for some reason I was told I could only have one last meal it wouldn’t be lobster or steak – it would be a big bowl of macaroni and cheese.  It doesn’t matter to me what kind.  Anything from the custard-y type to the baked type to the béchamel type to the old blue box is fine with me.  There is nothing better than that combo of heart attack on a plate.

I made this last week as a side dish to Caribbean BBQ Ribs and it was all I could do not to eat the whole thing in one sitting.  Next time you want something decadent, different and easy – this one’s a winner.   I won’t talk about nutritional info – no need to spoil the party.

  • 1 pound elbow macaroni
  • 1 (10.75 oz) can condensed tomato soup
  • 1 1/4 cups milk (whole milk preferred, although I did use 1%)
  • 3 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 8 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 1 medium tomato, sliced thin
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Pour in pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain.
     
  2. In large bowl, combine macaroni, soup, milk, cheese and 6 tablespoons butter. Pour into 9×13 baking dish. Top with bread crumbs and dot with remaining butter. Bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown and bubbly.  Add sliced tomatoes over top in decorative pattern and broil on high for a few minutes until tomatoes are slightly brown.  Let sit 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

