Bring Back Sirius Boombox!

bb

Yes, I was an early adopter with the whole satellite radio thing – I think we put it in our Mini Cooper when we bought it in 2003.  At first, I thought is was so awesome with hundreds of channels to choose from – all that music and stuff!  But, I soon realized that it is just like cable TV – all those choices and nothing really on.  (How did we watch TV with only 4 channels back in the day, anyway?)  

So, after awhile I settle on one station and it becomes not only my favorite station, but pretty much the only one I listen to.  Sirius Boombox – channel 39.  Boombox was the brainchild of DJ Liquid Todd and had a three year run as the go-to station for “break beat and electro rock”   Um, what is that?  Well, here is the official definition according to that vast knowledge datatbase, Wikipedia: 

Breakbeat (sometimes breakbeats or breaks) is a term used to describe a collection of sub-genres of electronic music, usually characterized by the use of a non-straightened 4/4 drum pattern (as opposed to the steady beat of house or trance). These rhythms may be characterised by their intensive use of syncopation and polyrhythms.

Okay, I didn’t know that either – but I do know that I like it.  The stuff I heard on Boombox became my new favorite stuff I bought for my iPod.  So, fast-forward to a few weeks ago, I get in the car and the satellite box does some sort of updating and – poof – my Boombox is no more.  It turns out that because of the Sirus/XM merger they had to do a little editing and decided to trash my station!  I got a cute note in my mailbox telling me that if I loved Boombox, I will love Alt-Rock or some lame-o pop station.  WTF????

I understand with the merger that there would be some overlap and therefore some of the redundant stations would have to go… but WHY would you turn a station off that was a unique niche and has no replacement?  Now I have nothing to listen to for my monthly fee.

I guess I’m not the only one who’s upset as there is plenty of chatter on the messageboards and blogs lamenting this stupid decision.  I thought I would add my two cents and say BRING BACK BOOMBOX fuckers!

7 thoughts on “Bring Back Sirius Boombox!

  1. I also really loved Boombox. I liked the sound of the break beats. I had never heard that kind of thing before, but I got to like it. On my blog there are links to a petition to bring it back. If you want you can sign. I don’t know if it will help. There was an email given for someone who would help us bring it back. I wrote to him, but never heard back. I could listen to Boombox for like four hours a day.

  2. Yea im having sirius withdrawls now! I have been introduced too so many kool new bands/artists cause of boombox. Plus all the sweet remixes come on! If like boombox i will like the pop channel? Hell to the no. This sucks i am real close to canceling my subscription. Was also my fav channel.

Leave a Reply

