Bring on the Chemicals

x

Okay, so recently I bought some “silverware by the pound” from a catalog.  Basically, it’s just old estate silverware that’s been cleaned up and mixed together, then organized into groups – and you buy the groups by the pound.  So I got rid of all  my old flatware and replaced it all with said silverware.  Well, as usual, I didn’t think this through past the “cool” factor – as I realized after the first day that I can’t just throw this stuff in the dishwasher like everything else.  (I figured that out when I took them out of the dishwasher and they were all tarnished and stuff.  I’m quick that way.)

So everything I read leads me to believe that the problem is not really with the dishwasher, but with the dishwashing soap.  I guess those little dishwashing tabs have all sorts of harsh chemicals and stuff in them – go figure.  According to my research, I need to use “natural” dishwashing soaps free of chlorine and phosphates.  No problem  – I can get clean silverware and look cool as I buy my dishwashing soap at Whole Foods.

One problem:  These lame-o “natural” products don’t get dishes clean, which I thought was kind of the idea of dishwashing soap.  It’s not that they don’t get them clean enough – I mean they don’t get the dishes clean at all.  (And, no – I’m not one of those people that just throws the dishes in without rinsing them so that I need a garbage disposal in my dishwasher.)  I think if I ran the dishwasher with no soap at all it may have done a better job.   Oh, and you get to pay twice as much for the privilege of “being green.”  I’ve been trying this for two months and used two different brands. Needless to say, I have now given up and have reverted back to the good old Cascade and will be washing the silverware by hand.

Sometimes you just need some good, strong chemicals, my friend. LONG LIVE CHLORINE AND PHOSPHATES.

One thought on “Bring on the Chemicals

  1. I totally know what you mean! Someone once told me that “regular” dishwasher soap is a lot like drain cleaner–it just strips everything off the dishes. I’m inclined to believe that. Next time you get a drop of dishwasher soap on your skin, leave it there for more than a few seconds and you’ll notice that it stings–almost burns–your skin. I keep trying the natural products, but I’m not happy with the way they clean my dishes. Isn’t it horrible that we can’t find a happy medium?

Leave a Reply

