A Moment of Silence for My Vintage Cookbook Collection

So we had a leak due to some dumbass that came to perform “maintenance” on our appliances.  He managed to crimp the line and then leave the power on an icemaker that hasn’t worked in two years, so the water from the icemaker line leaked through the ceiling down to our butler’s kitchen where I keep all my vintage cookbooks.  Needless to say, most of them are completely ruined.  I was going to take a picture, but it makes me too sad.

Thanks a lot, asswipe.  I’m still pondering whether I should post your name out here for all to see.

5 thoughts on “A Moment of Silence for My Vintage Cookbook Collection

  1. OMG – This calls for a drink…or 12. WTF – what a jerkoff. You must post his name. For the safety of vintage cookbooks in all of America. Please, I beg of you. Think of others. You must prevent this tragedy from reoccuring. I curse the day the dumb fuck entered your front door. Bastard. As you can read, I am taking it really hard.

  2. I’m not quite sure how I landed here and under any other conditions I would be thrilled.

    I can’t even imagine what I would do if such a tragedy happened to me. My cookbooks are like my children. I am so very sorry for your loss. Truly sorry:(

  3. Hi all –

    Thanks for the condolences. Yes, it has been a hard one to get over as I have been collecting vintage cookbooks for over 10 years and they were one of my prized possessions. I probably had about 40 and most of them are completely ruined. Some can probably be replaced, but some never can…

    I know, they are just “things” – but it still sucks.

Leave a Reply

