Fired on Facebook

fb_oops

I ran across this gem on one of my favorite time-wasting websites, Passive-Agressive Notes. This totally cracks me up for a couple of reasons.  First, that the poster is posting from work, which seems like something you really shouldn’t be doing.  Second, that they “forgot” that their boss is one of their “friends.”  Why on earth would you make your boss your friend on Facebook?  That seems stupid on about 3 levels.  But, some of the 20-somethings have over 800 “friends” – how can you keep track?

I know someone who did something similar – but luckily figured it out before it got too far.  She was having some problems at her job and posted some giant rant about what was happening and then left it up for a couple of minutes before realizing that some of her “friends” also were co-workers. Not the person she was ranting about, but still not people that needed to see what she was thinking. Ooops.

I can’t post here about the stupid things I’ve done on FB because a lot of people from my FB read this blog as well.  Let’s just say I’ve made an ass out of myself more than once – but what it really comes down to is that there is a distinction between “real life” friends and “facebook friends” and although many do overlap, some don’t.  Just because I read your daily posts on what you had for lunch doesn’t mean I necessarily want to have lunch with you.  I guess it’s just part of the New World Order.

Passive/Aggressive Notes: http://www.passiveaggressivenotes.com/

One thought on “Fired on Facebook

  1. Pingback: Non-Verbal Cues, Or Just Plain Dumb « The Agonist

Leave a Reply

