303 Taxi Still Sucks!

303

So, for some reason, my 303 Taxi Sucks post from last year seems to be quite popular and is always in my Top 10.  (Probably because if you Google 303 Taxi, my post is the second one that comes up.)  Well, move over 303 Taxi Sucks and make room for the new and improved 303 Taxi Still Sucks!

Yes, 303 Taxi fucked us again!  You would think I would have learned, but actually it wasn’t me personally, but a friend of mine who was trying to leave a party at our house we had over the weekend.  So, you could say I was indirectly involved.

So, we have a party.  This particular friend was smart enough to figure that he shouldn’t drink and drive and took a 303 taxi to my house for said party.  Amazingly, 303 Taxi managed to get he and his girlfriend from his house to mine with no problems.  The real problem arises when he decides that perhaps he would like to do the OPPOSITE and go from my house to his at 1am. This must have set off some alarm bells at 303 Taxi Headquarters as this is what happened next:

  1. My friend calls 303 Taxi, they say they’ll be at my house in 20 minutes.  My friend and his girlfriend say their goodbyes and go wait on my front stoop at the time the taxi is supposed to arrive.
  2. 15 minutes after the original 20 is up, I realize they are still waiting and ask who they called.  When they told me it was 303 Taxi I somehow knew it would go down bad because that’s “how it rolls” with 303 Taxi.
  3. They call 303 Taxi again – the dispatcher tells us that someone called them from our house and cancelled the taxi, so that’s what they did.  We find this odd since no one knew they were leaving via taxi but them, and they had used his cell phone to call, not my house phone.  So, he re-orders the taxi.  Now it will be another 20 minutes.
  4. 20 minutes – no taxi.  My friend calls again and this time they tell us that they had called back the number he gave them to confirm the taxi and no one answered , so they cancelled the taxi.  The number he gave them (he made them read it back) was his cell, and we had been sitting outside the whole time and his cell phone never rang.   He re-orders the taxi.  Another 20.
  5. Another 20 goes by and still no taxi.  We call again and this time I talk to them.  They tell me that the taxi was farther away than they thought and it would probably be another 10-15 minutes.  At this point my friend is getting pissed as he’s no spring chicken and he really just wants to go home.  It’s now over an hour since the original call and it’s still not there.  Lucky for him,  about 10 minutes later another friend was leaving at this point and was nice enough to drive them home even thought it’s a little out of his way.  Kudos to this friend! (You know who you are!)
  6. When they were almost to his house (a good 30-40 minutes later) his cell phone rang and it was 303 Taxi telling him that the driver would be at my house really soon.  Obviously at this point my friend explains he already got a ride and is home already since he’d been waiting for so long and the caller got snippy with him because he didn’t cancel the taxi when he decided to take the ride with my other friend!

So, let’s sum up:  Almost TWO HOURS after my friend placed the original call, the taxi was still not at my house but yet they are pissed off that he didn’t cancel the call when he figured out that 303 TAXI SUCKS and would really be picking him up at 20 minutes past NEVER?  WTF?!

Yes, 303 Taxi, you still suck.  (You’ve ruined my old area code for me, too.)

22 thoughts on “303 Taxi Still Sucks!

    • I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO SAY THAT THOSE GENTLEMANLY COCK KNOCKERS OWE THE FORMER STAFF OF ELGIN YELLOW CAB OVER 6,000 DOLLARS!!!! 6 MOS OLD BILL!!!!!!!! COMPANY MAKES MILLIONS EVERY YEAR AND THEY CANT AFFORD TO PAY THE HELP!!!!!!! ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING IN MY POWER TO FUCK 303 OVER I WILL DO!!!!!!!!!! INCLUDING EVERY GODDAMN CHARGE I CAN FIND!!!!!!!!!! SINCERLY, A FORMER DISPATCHER!

  1. Yes, Igor – it is I who should stop drinking, right?

    Of course it makes perfect sense that I rip on American Taxi (twice, because they suck) and yet I work for them.

    You got a mind like a steel trap, son – full of mice.

    • WHY DONT YOU STICK TO DISPATCHIN, I WORKED IN THE OFFICE AND I DO KNOW WHAT GOES DOWN AT NIGHT !!! BUNCHA CHEAP COCK SUCKIN RUSSIAN JEWS, EVERY LAST ONE OF EM INCLUDING AND ESPECIALLY HENRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I’ve had bad service with 303 taxi through 1800TaxiCab.

    The first time I asked for a cab was back in Feb using 1800TaxiCab. I called, they said 20 minutes.
    20 minutes passed, than 40, than it’s well over an hour. I call.
    They tell me that the dispatched taxi picked up a fare with NO notification on my end.
    So I’m still waiting.
    30 minutes later I get a cab.

    All in all total 1 hour 40 minutes for a cab.

    Than TONIGHT, I call 1800TaxiCab again because I don’t feel like driving.
    I call early around 10:30 to request a taxi for 11:30PM so I can give them some lee-way.

    11:15 I get a text saying there’s a taxi being dispatched…Taxi 5471

    11:30 no call, no taxi.
    I call at 11:45 and they tell me that I’ve already been picked up at my residence. WTF!
    I tell them I’m still here and the guy says he’s going to dispatch another one.

    12:10 I get a call saying they are working on the issue. This call came from 18474833100

    12:30 I’m writing this artice.
    Fuck this service.
    If my wife was having a goddamn baby or god forbid I need to make a flight somewhere, 303 Taxi for Chicago would just fuck up my plans.
    Now I’ve lost 1 hour of pay from my job tonight because they are fucking late.

    FUCK 303 TAXI. Don’t use 1800TaxiCab in Chicago. Seriously! BULLSHIT!

  3. 303 Taxi has 2 offices one located at 5200 Otto in Chicago right behind the Rosemont Theatre and one in Waukegan at 2425 Washington. The calls are all answered from either the call taking office in Mt. Prospect or the Otto office. The dispatch staff there are complete morons, trust me I know I drove for them for 7 years. I was tired of hearing the customer complaints on wait time and their previous experiences with other drivers. 303 does not care about the clientels’ complaints. All they care about is the money they collect from the drivers. All the taxi’s have computers in them and each town is assigned a 3 digit number. All these drivers can see this and if you live in a town that is known to have passengers that only go a short distance, the drivers wont punch in the cfode to accept the ride because they want the “long distance” rides. None of the 1000 drivers they have EVER pay or file income tax reports or are ever given a 1099 form from the company. So most of the drivers go 10-15 years without paying state or federal taxes and I’m sure the money the drivers pay to the company for dispatch services is underreported to the IRS. This is fact not an assumption because I was one of those people. I left this company because of the poor management and the horrible treatment of the customers. I will go on record if anyone from the IRS reads this because I know how much money 303/Flash/5Star/Elgin Cab/North Shore Yellow/ etc…. drivers give them. Yes they own all these companies and then some. Please email me with any thoughts or questions, I’ll tell you exactly how the taxi industry works.

  4. COULDNT AGREE WITH YOU MORE, THE WHOLE ELGIN THING HAS BECOME A NIGHTMARE FOR THEM…. THEY HAE LOST MORE OF THEIR REGULARS IN ELGIN THEN YOU WOULD THINK POSSIBLE!!! ALSO, THERE INCOMPITANCE IS CAUSING THEM TO LOSE MAJOR ACCOUNTS INCLUDING HAMILTON ACADEMY, ARTHER ANDERSON,PROVENA ST.JOES HOSPITAL AND SHERMAN HOSPITAL JUST TO NAME A FEW. GRANTED EVERY CAB COMPANY HAS ROUGH SPOTS, BUT THE SHEER GREED OF THESE PEOPLE IS WJAT WILL BE THERE DEMISE….. LIKE THE POET SAID ” THE CENTER CAN NOT HOLD” AND AS THE OTHER GENTLEMAN STATED I WOULD MORE THEN HAPPY TO HELP ANY I.R.S. , OR OTHER FEDERAL OR STATE OFFICIALS IN ANY INVESTIGATION IN TO THE IMPROPER ‘GOINGS ON’ OF THIS OR ELGIN YELLOW CAB WHEN THEY WERE STILL IN BIZZ. I OFFER THIS ASSISTANCE AS SOMEONE WHO ALSO WORKED FOR THIS COMPANY FOR ALMOST 10 YEARS.

  5. They still suck. I drive for them. I barely make lease. Most I ever made was 200 bucks in a week after expenses. I am trying like hell to find another job. Never driving a taxi again. For these or any other assholes.

  6. I AGREE, 303 SUCKS!
    They did a bait & switch on me. Their website states very clearly that it is a $55 flat rate to my suburb. And i even paid that on the way out. But when I just used them to get home from O’Hare, I was charged $58, while $3 is not a lot it is the absolute principal. Especially since I had to listen to his crap static radio the entire trip and the taxi cabs are nasty. Both taxis were disgustingly filthy. I will NEVER use them again out of principal. The irony is that $3 cost him a $10 tip.

  7. All the smart ases writing this BS about cab business is lack of Education about this industry-you guys are jealous with their success-Start working hard and quit wasting time with this crap-THis message is from a competitor taxi service of 303

  8. I had an alarming ride with 303 taxi last night (11-22-12). I wanted to get out of car about 5 minutes into ride, but wasn’t near anything safe. I have sent the following complaint to 303 taxi.

    I saw your taxi in front of a bar that is across the street from the Westmont train station. I was not drinking. I had just gotten off from work and didn’t want to wait for the train back to the city. I approached the car-driver sitting in the front driver-side seat looking at phone. I tapped on window and he gets out. I ask if there’s a flat fee for chicago. He appears disoriented. He pauses for a good 10 seconds with only “UMMMM” and looks like he’s trying to remember. I finally say that it’s $66 for another cab company. He says “ok, yeah. $66”. I say “great” and get in. FIRST ODD ALERT: He doesn’t phone in the ride nor does he turn on his meter. His dispatch/company never had a record of the ride. This was a safety concern. SECOND ALERT: He doesn’t understand what I say. Not necessarily a language problem, but seems like he forgets what I just said. I had to tell him multiple times to turn or which street. Which he would slam on his brakes to make or pass it and have to turn at the next street. THIRD ALERT: He’s swerving–A LOT. His movements and speech are a little slow & “slurred”.He didn’t make sense. Again, not a language issue. He honestly had to jerk the car back into the lane over 6 times. He got CONFUSED BY A STOPLIGHT! On Cass in Westmont, in front of library, there’s a stoplight. He drives almost through it without stopping, but then stops in the MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. He looks up and behind him at the stoplight that he just ran and says “What? What is that?” I tell him it’s a stoplight that he just ran. He seemed honestly so confused. FOURTH ALERT: HE TELLS ME HE WAS ‘SITTING’ A BAR!!!! It didn’t make any sense and I was confused. He said that “He was sitting in the bar and getting a BAD feeling (from people?)”. He said “I still have this feeling”. Again, I can’t stress enough that this was slurry, random, and made no sense. I suspect now that he is drunk-but I keep telling myself “NO-Can’t be”. I want to get out of car, but already down by Midwest road. It’s cold, dark and nothing around. I also keep telling myself that it can’t be true. FIFTH ALERT: He asks me for change for the toll (to enter onto (I-290). I tell him usually the driver has that responsibility. He stops at the un-manned toll, digs for 2 minutes in his pocket for change. Then immediately (not even one second from when he put in the change) YELLS (no exaggeration) at the “Stop” light–“LET ME GO!” He then says “It doesn’t understand english. I tell it in French”.

    This behavior continues all the way to Chicago. I can’t stress enough the SWERVING. He loses where he is near Chicago and follows the path for 294 to Wisconsin. I wasn’t watching when this happened, but after a few minutes I see the Exit Street names and realize. I ask him “Did you get on 294?” He seems confused, again, but says “No”. Then I see a 294 sign! So I had to direct him all the way from the western side back to my location which is in eastern side of city.

    There was something wrong with this driver. He admitted to being in a bar. He was either drunk or had taken something else. This was a very scary, un-safe experience. You should know that I have sent this report to Chicago 311 office as well.

  9. we dont need to tell dispatch we have a fare we dont have to turn on our meters if its a flat rate as to the other stuff shxt i wouldnt have gotten ito his cab in the first place….. dumbass

  10. I’m so glad to see there are others that loathe dealing with this company as much as I do. I’ve had so many bad experiences with them, it’s hard to put my finger on “the one” that articulates my anger and frustration the best. I will say there’s no bullshit I haven’t heard from them already. You would think ordering cabs HOURS IN ADVANCE and tipping well would be enough, but apparently, the drivers are treated badly enough that they pass the suffering onto the consumer, i.e.: not taking fares, grumpy when you don’t pay cash, or even CREDIT CARD FRAUD. How do you say, sketchy in Russian?

    I would love to do anything to make the area, state, country, world aware of how shitty, how incompetent, dismissive, and sketchy this company is. Please, contact me. A guerrilla AD campaign would be easy. Shutting them down for good would take some effort, but I’m down….

  11. I love that this topic continues to live…. and 303 taxi continues to suck. The Gods have given us the most amazing answer possible… competition! Yes, good old fashioned competition in the form of Uber, Lyft, et al. Thank the capitalist Lord above that we have CHOICE in the asshole that must take us home for payment. Fuck you again, 303 Taxi. You STILL SUCK.

Leave a Reply

