Behold the Beautiful “Meat Star Platter!”

meatstar

I’m not exactly sure what year this ad ran, but it fits right in with my unheralded obsession with all Disgusting Food Images from the Past.  I especially enjoy the crazy flaming sterno in the middle of the star!  According to the copy, your guests are supposed to roast the little Vienna Sausages over the sterno!  Mmmm.. I can’t imagine how yummy that must taste.  Vienna Sausages + Sterno = Instant Glamour.

The other two cat food appetizers are Deviled Ham and Potted Food Meat Product spread on crackers.  Now, I’m no marketing genius, but couldn’t they have come up with a better name than “Potted Food Meat Product?”   You don’t see them calling Spam “Chopped-Pork-Shoulder-Meat-with-Ham-Meat-Added Product” now do you?

I’m sure they could sell more of it if they called it PoFo or something.  It’s still called that today, believe it or not.  And, even more disturbing is that there are not one, not two, but three different brands of Potted Food Meat Product.  Armour brand claims to be #1 in the Potted Food Meat Product category.  Why would you brag about this?  And, more importantly, who the hell is buying this stuff? Vienna Sausages, Deviled Ham – it’s all equally disgusting.

(I had a friend in college who loooooved Vienna Sausages and used to eat them can after can.  The only thing I could ever figure out is that he was stoned about 95% of the time, so maybe that had something to do with it.  To me, they look like little poached fingers in a can, so high or not, I can’t bring myself to try them.)

Oh, by the way, here is the ingredient list to Potted Food Meat Product:  Beef tripe, mechanically separated chicken, beef hearts, partially defatted cooked beef fatty tissue, meat broth, vinegar, salt, flavoring, sugar, and sodium nitrite.

3 thoughts on “Behold the Beautiful “Meat Star Platter!”

  1. Those Vienna Sausages look like classic M80 firecrackers. Equivalent to 1/8 of a stick of dynamite, I am concerned regarding the proximity to the flaming Sterno.

  2. I’m digging the redesign. Excellent use of negative space!

    P.S. GD, I hated when my clients would say that. I swear it was one of the few phrases that they might vaguely understand, could recall and then repeat ad nauseum.

    P.S.S. I mean the comment sincerely in this case.

Leave a Reply

