My Album Collection: Fonzie’s Favorites 1976

fonzie.png


This fine album was one of the first albums I ever bought myself with my allowance.  Yes, it’s a Fonz record.  Not only that, it’s a Fonz record with special appearances by Laverne & Shirley and the Sweathogs. Cool, huh?   I certainly thought so when I bought it in the Bargain Bin at Woolco.
 
Yes, I used to like the Fonz.  Why, I have no idea.  I look at that horrible show now and I don’t even know why I watched it.  It was a big deal in 1976 – I guess that’s what happens when you only have four channels.  Anyway, I liked the Fonz so much that I stole for him.  I went to Skagg’s with a friend and I shoplifted a Fonzie pin that looked kind of like the one he has on in the album cover that said “SIT ON IT” and had a picture of the Fonz with his trademark “Aaaaaay” thumbs-up stance.  My parents wouldn’t let me wear it because they thought that SIT ON IT was a rude thing to say.  Ahhhh.. the innocent 70s.  So, basically, I stole it and couldn’t even wear it.  There’s a lesson in there somewhere, I think.
 
 I was so excited when I had saved up enough money to buy this record!  Then, I got it home.  It was kind of a rip – it only had two songs about the Fonz (Fonzarelli Slide and The Fonz Song) and the rest was old recycled 50s music.  Oh, and a final track of an “impressionist” saying all the cool Fonz sayings so you could learn how to say them, too.  Like I couldn’t say SIT ON IT or AAAAY without the “impressionist” teaching me.  The Fonzarelli Slide had some ridiculous gimmick in which both the Sweathogs and Laverne & Shirley somehow are involved and sing about the Fonz.  It didn’t make sense on a lot of levels, but I was 9, what did I know?
 
The coolest thing, though, was that the back of the album cover had a fold out tab that allowed you to stand this up as a picture, which I am sad to admit, I did.  Proudly.
 
Oh, SIT ON IT! 
 
 

15 thoughts on “My Album Collection: Fonzie’s Favorites 1976

  1. Oh, God, this made me laugh. Love you. The Buckingham Mall video is hilarious, too, btw. The song with the photos is over the top. Right up my alley.

    Hope all is well, my friend.

    JMo

  2. I have a bizarre request for you…. Would it be possible to get a list of the songs from this album? My parents had this record and my sister and I would listen to it over and over and over. We have been searching to find the songs from the album, and this post is the closest we’ve come to!

    Thanx for your consideration! 🙂

  3. I know what you mean, when you look at it now, it ain’t so cutting edge, but when you read between the lines I reckon he just really stoned….Aaaaaay

  4. Oh Sit On It!! This made my day, as I have been channeling The Fonz all week! I had this great idea to clean up the Gulf oil spill using the Fonz’s ultra-cool hair. Just dip him in and….aaaayyyyy! I even changed my picture on IM to the Fonz. Whooooaaaa!

  5. i was just outside throwng away trash when i came apon the a bunch of albums and it just so happens i found the album u mention. i have now idea what the helll do to with it. or if its even worth anything? the cover itself is in good shape along with the revord thats its holding some imfo info would b helpfull thanks

  6. Pingback: Death to Kenny Rogers (and other shameless publicity stunts) | The Outlet: the Blog of Electric Literature

  7. Greetings from Finland. I found this album – a very fine item – at a flea market here in Helsinki today (price 5 euros), and as usual, I have to look up what has been written about in on the Web. I remember “Happy Days” well, though I guess I was a bit too young to become a fan of the show in its heydays. (We had TWO channels back in those day, by the way). But in any case, I like music from the 50s.
    Great blog you’ve got, I’ll bookmark it for further visits!

  8. I still have this album on 8-track, bought it from a friend for 25 cents in the fourth grade. I must have listened to it a million times. I still like Happy Days too, although Fonzie is a far cry from what you could call “Cool” anymore. He was way too old to be playing a teenager.

Leave a comment